May 5, 2013

  • Appreciate What You Have While You Still Have It

    This post was inspired by the post: You don’t know what you don’t know…, by fellow Xangan #appalolly.

    This really hits me right now. 

    As the father of a daughter and a son, the original Facebook article got to me, as I always tell people with young kids this, too.  Enjoy them while you can, I say, for all too soon they will be gone.  That said, I missed more of my kids’ childhood than I would have preferred, or they would have preferred. Sometimes it couldn’t be helped, but others it was my own fault.

    Now my kids are grown.  They still need me sometimes, but not as much as they used to.  That’s normal, of course, but sometimes it hurts.  The same is true for my wife, whom I didn’t always appreciate as much as I should have, and who is also suffering the kids not needing her as much as they once did.  There are other personal issues between us, of course, as there will be between two people who have been with each other for so long.  Now, as much as I try to remind her of the nearly 30 years of love and standing by each other in good times and bad that we have shared, I fear I may lose her soon, and have to move on in this journey we call life without her, for a while at least.  If so, I will work to become a better person, and hope that we come together once again.

Comments (23)

  • I saw the same entry here at Xanga and was appaled to be honest. I’m so sorry to hear of your difficulties at ahome my friend. I’ve prayed for you both.

  • @AOK4WAY - Thank you.  You probably know from reading my blog, I am an agnostic who respects others’ beliefs, and I truly appreciate your prayers.

  • @lonelywanderer2 - Oh yes, I remember that. I also remember that you’ve always been so very respectful of my faith and appreciative of prayer, You know, I’ve been kicking a new entry around in my head for a few weeks now, but you just gave me the extra motivation I needed to get it organized in my head and published. I hope you’ll check it out when I do, I’ll have you in mind as I work on it!

    I’d love to talk to you some time, please message me if you’re willing and I’ll give you all my contact info! Peace be with you and your house my friend.

  • I am so sorry for the struggles you’re facing. You are in my thoughts and prayers. *hugs for you both* 

  • @Lady_Kelacy - Thank you, pretty lady!!!  HUGS back.

  • i am sorry for your situation right now……….hope and pray that everything will be okay…….

  • Being a member of emergency services, while rewarding, has a steep price to be paid on the family front.  I too, have missed many holidays with my kids growing up because unfortunately, 911 has to be answered 24/7.    While my children are both strong & independent young adults, they both know I’m there for them, when the chips are down.  I have no doubt, yours feel the same.  Stay strong my friend!

  • @vanzkim - Thanks for the prayers!!! @Parker_Texas - I think they do, and thank you.

  • I have learned this the hard way, too. I’m sorry and hope things with your wife will be okay.

  • @jennylovve - Thanks.  I think they have a ways to go before that happens, if it does, though.  I think we will be separating very soon.

  • This just teared me up! Hugggggs.

  • thinking of you and our wife tonight…. struggling myself.

  • It is  to be tough to go through this and tougher to share. Will be keeping you in my thoughts! You do know that us marrieds (30+ years married and 40 since dated) have moments in time like this? Hang in there!

  • @mellywelly15 - @xXrEMmUsXx - @GoneRetired - Separation likely happening very  soon.  She is being told nice things by a guy 12 years younger who has a history of lying and using people w/o caring who gets hurt.  She is someone who will keep him company and give him a ride (in a car, and maybe otherwise) when he wants one.  I am trying to make her see she is being used by a “man” who has used many others before her, and will leave her when he no longer needs her, but it doesn’t seem to be working.

  • I won’t pretend i know more than you, because i definitely don’t, being much younger and inexperienced. From my past though, I’ve learned that it’s best to expect nothing from the other person in a relationship, and stop talking about the relationship. If you really want to make it work and the other person wants to quit, all you can really do is expect less and give more.

  • That sounds very sad.  I hope you and your wife can both be happy in the future.

  • time flies— you blink and it’s gone. that’s why it’s so important to take the time now to appreciate the people in your life. there are no promises for tomorrow… all we have is today!

  • After so long, it’s gotta be tough. You’ll be in my prayers as well. 

  • I agree with your sentiment. We had babies early and they were all gone in our early 40′s.

    I have been married 57 years, but have always known it could end in divorce. It is did, I have prepared myself to not be bitter, fight for my full share of our assets, and move to Hawaii and die their.  
    I hope your wife does not leave you, but I admire your attitude.  It happens a lot in our culture. I sure gave my wife reasons to leave me–long hours at work, moving 20 times in 40 years, being too ambitious, and not too great at home, etc.  If she left me, there would be no second wife—not at age 79. One wife for 57 years is enough and I had a great one.
    wishing you the best,

    frank

  • Best wishes. Hope things can work out.

  • I hope things work out for you :) I can’t imagine being married. I admire you have been for so long, these days you’re lucky to last past 5 years!

  • I didn’t know you were in emergency services. That is so cool. I hope your children understand how important your work truly is.

    Good luck to you.

  • You are both in my prayers. Marriage is not easy… It is not something that once problems are dealt with, will never have problems again. It is more like a roller coaster sometimes.

    *hugs*

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *