June 16, 2013

  • The Best Gift You Could Give

    In recent years, I have found I have very little desire for unnecessary material possessions. Not that I’m immune to temptation, but I actually find myself being a little sick and ashamed of myself when I see something that looks cool, but which I don’t need, and find myself thinking, “I wish I had that”.

    What makes me feel good is knowing people who are important to me love me and think about me. My daughter told me she saw a wolf mug she wanted to get me as a gift for Father’s Day, but it cost $40. She and her boyfriend recently moved into a new apartment, and she is not working right now. I told her that the fact she was thinking about me truly meant more to me than owning the item ever could. I had told her the same thing a while back, when she saw a wolf-themed table for sale, and wanted to buy it, but couldn’t.

    I told her what she could do next time is take a picture of the item and send it to me with a message saying, “Hey, I saw this and thought of you.”, then spend the money on something she really needs. That way, I said, everybody wins.

Comments (13)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *